Mx Oil Corporate Governance


Corporate Governance

The Board recognises its responsibility for the proper management of the Company and is committed to maintaining a high standard of corporate governance. The Directors recognise the importance of sound corporate governance commensurate with the size and nature of the Company and the interests of its Shareholders. The Corporate Governance Code does not apply to companies admitted to trading on AIM and there is no formal alternative for AIM companies. The Quoted Companies Alliance has published the QCA Code, which includes a standard of minimum best practice for AIM companies, and recommendations for reporting corporate governance matters. The Directors take into account the Corporate Governance Code (and the QCA Code), to the extent they consider it appropriate and having regard to the size and resources of the Company.

The Group’s current system of corporate governance is summarised below.

Company’s directors

MX Oil has a five member Board of Directors comprised of:

  • Nicholas Lee, Non-Executive Director
  • Stefan Olivier – CEO
  • Nigel Bruce McKim, Chief Operation Officer
  • Sergio Lopez  -  Non-Executive Director
  • Richard James Carter- Non-Executive Director

Directors’ responsibilities

The Directors are responsible for keeping proper accounting records which disclose with reasonable accuracy at any time the financial position of the Company, for safeguarding the assets, for taking reasonable steps for the prevention and detection of fraud and other irregularities and for the preparation of the financial statements which comply with the requirements of the Companies Act 2006.

The Directors are responsible for preparing the annual report and the financial statements in accordance with the Companies Act 2006. The Directors have chosen to prepare financial statements for the group and the company in accordance with International Financial reporting Standards as adopted by the European Union (IFRSs).